• Call : 0663-2548035

HISTORY OF  Sambalpur Public Library

Sambalpur Public Library was established on 23.04.2003, on the World Books & Copy Right Day in a meeting held in the house of Er.Karunakar Supkar. An Executive Body with twelve members was formed and bye-law approved and signed. Registered under the Societies Registration Act. On 22.05.2003 with registration No.SBL-5771-7, 2003-04. Donations to Sambalpur Public Library are exempted from Income Tax U/s.80-G (5) (VI) of the Income Tax Act 1961 vide order no.CIT/SBP/TECH/80-G/2011-12/6743 dtd. Sambalpur the 30th March-2012 of the Commissioner of Income Tax, Sambalpur. Formally opened on 29.05.2003 in the Auditorium of G.M. College. Late Prof. P.K. Pati was the President and Prof.Durga Prasad Nayak Chief Speaker, Sri G.K. Dhal, IAS, RDC and Sri S.K. Sarangi, IAS, Collector were Chief Guest and Honorable Guests. The library functioned in the house of Prof. A.P. Padhi and meetings were held in Sujata Hotel.

Applied for Govt. land and allotted 0.150 decimals which was later on changed Ac.0.050 decimals. Formal Lease Deed was signed on 05.08.2005 and Patta issued on 17.08.2005. Sakuntala Bidyadhar Trust funded towards the cost of land paid to Govt. We are grateful to Dr.Saheb Sahu of the Trust for the initial contribution. S.D.A. approved building plan on 08.12.2005. Foundation stone was laid on 12.04.2006 by Sri A.K. Dalwai, IAS, RDC in presence of Sri Bishal Gagan, IAS, Collector, Sambalpur P.W.D. was entrusted with the construction of the building. The building plan was finalized in consultation with the State Architect, construction started in 2009 and the building was inaugurated on 02.04.2012 by the famous Poet Padmashree Jayant Mahapatra, Sri B.C. Barik, Vice-Chancellor of Sambalpur University was the chief Speaker. Sri K.C. Barik, IAS, RDC, presided over the function.


Hans Nagar, Sambalpur,
Odisha 768001
Driving Directions


Mon. – Thurs. 9:00am – 9:00pm
Friday 9:00am – 4:00pm
Saturday 9:00am – 4:00pm